February & March 2017

 

 

The ASA Building at Academy Village as seen from the courtyard
The ASA Building at Academy Village as seen from the courtyard

Wednesday, February 1

Jed Kee

“The Constitution and the Federalist”

  1. The Presidency

2:30 – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 2

Kathi Ciskowski

“Writing and Reading One-Act Plays”

3:30 pm – 4:30pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 7

Viola Recital

Hong-Mei Xiao, viola

Rex Woods, piano

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 8

Joe Helgert

“Great Decisions: Trade and Politics”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 9

Pima County Bookmobile

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm, Front of the Community Center

 

Thursday, February 9

Fritz Reinagel

“Thinking About Numbers”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Monday, February 13

“Special Program: Lecture and Song”

Paula Fan and Jeremy Williams

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 14

Arizona Wind Quintet

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 15

George Scholz

“Great Decisions: US Foreign Policy and Petroleum”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 16

Chuck Tampio

“Bellissima: The Feminine Ideal in Italian Art”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 21

“Harp Recital”

Christine Vivona

11:30 pm – 12:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 22

Don Gilzinger

“Great Decisions: Conflict in the South China Sea”

3:00 – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 23

Pamela Reinagel

“The Neuroscience of Singing”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 28

Chamber Music Trio

Ted Buchholz & Co.

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, March 1

Jade Amick

“Great Decisions: Saudi Arabia in Transition”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, March 2

Keith Dienes ***Pre-recorded lecture

UA College of Science Rethinking Reality Series

“Rethinking the Rules of Reality”

3:30 pm – 4:30pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, March 7

“The Marimba: A Collaboration”

Trevor Barrero, percussion

Dan Kruse, lecturer

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Wednesday, March 8

Elliott Cheu

UA College of Science Rethinking Reality Series

“A Myriad of Particles”

3:30 pm – 4:30pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, March 9

Pima County Bookmobile

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm, Front of the Community Center

 

Thursday, March 9

John Evans

“Great Decisions: Latin America’s Political Pendulum”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Friday, March 10

Joe Hayes

“Tales of the American Southwest”

4:00 pm – 5:00 pm, the Great Room

 

Tuesday, March 14

“Nancy McCallion and Her Irish Band”

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Wednesday, March 15

Neil Kochenour

“Great Decisions: Nuclear Security”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, March 16

Feryal Ozel ***Pre-recorded lecture

UA College of Science Rethinking Reality Series

“The Journey to the Extreme”

3:30 pm – 4:30pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, March 21

“Bassoon and Piano”

Martin von Klompenberg

11:30 pm – 12:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Wednesday, March 22

Jed Kee

“The Constitution and the Federalist”

  1. The Supreme Court

2:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, March 23

Sam Gralla

UA College of Science Rethinking Reality Series

“Space, Time and Gravity”

3:30 pm – 4:30pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, March 28

Run Boy Run: Bluegrass Band

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, March 29

Ann Quinlan

“Hidden Ireland”

2:30 – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, March 30

Rincon Valley Fire Department

“Home Safety”

3:30 pm – 4:30pm, The Great Room

 

 

 Because some of our events overfill this hall, we have established a reserved-seat policy. This means non-Academy members need to call 647-0980 or email info@arizonasenioracademy.org to make a reservation. The first twenty-five people to reserve a seat will be able to enter the hall fifteen minutes prior to the announced starting time of the event and may sit anywhere, as will Academy members. Visitors without a reservation will be able to seat themselves five minutes prior to the announced starting time if there are still seats available. Thank you.

Visitor parking is behind the Community Center. Upon entry into Academy Village there will be a stop sign. Turn right and follow the yellow dividing line in the road to a sign that reads “Additional Parking”. Turn left onto Vivaldi Court and follow the road down into the parking lot.