May 2019

Please click on date to bring up a description of the event.

Tuesday, May 28

“Hot Club of Tucson”

Gypsy Jazz Trio

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, May 29

“The History of Special Prosecutors”

A Book Talk by Andrew Coan, U.of A.

2:30-3:30 p.m., The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, May 30

“Ancient Native American Pottery of Southern Arizona”

Allen Dart, Archaeologist with the Old Pueblo Archaeology Center, Tucson

2:30-3:30 p.m., The Arizona Senior Academy Building

June 2019

Tuesday, June 4 

“A Musical Caribbean Getaway”

Steel del Sol, a Steel Drum Trio

11:30-12:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, June 5

“Arizona’s Empire Ranch–a Prominent Past and Promising Future”

Alison Bunting 

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, June 6

“The Role of Water in Limiting Forest Growth”

David Frank 

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, June 11

Harp, trombone,  and piano

Christine Vivona and Rob Boone

11:30-12:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, June 12

“Coping with Illness Digitally” (Book talk)

Steven Rains 

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Thursday, June 13

“Leaping Lizards!”

John Wiens

2:30-3:30,  The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, June 18

“Solo Jazz Piano”

Sly Slipetsky 

11:30-12:30,  The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, June 20

“Climate and the Deep Blue Sea”

Joellen Russell 

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Tuesday, June 25

“Gus Woodrow Quartet”

Bossa Nova and Brazilian Jazz

11:30-12:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

 

Thursday, June 27

“Is America Hopelessly Polarized?”

Samara Klar

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building  

July 2019

Tuesday, July 2

Nick McBlaine & Log Train

Western Americana music

11:30-12:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building  

 Tuesday, July 9

“The 4Gents”

Vocal Doo-Wop

7:00 pm-8:00 pm,  (NOTE: evening concert)The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Tuesday, July 16

“Nancy McCallion & the Scarlet Lettermen”

Americana folk music 

11:30-12:30,  The Arizona Senior Academy Building  

Wednesday, July 7

“When is a Text not a Text?”

Maria Dobozy 

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Thursday, July 18

“Mountain Water Issues”

Christopher Scott 

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Tuesday, July 23 (Note: Evening Concert)

“Tradiciones entre Peruanos”

Traditional Andean folk music

7:00 pm – 8:00 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, July 24

“Impact of Disinformation on Science and Journalism”

Susan Swanberg

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Tuesday, July 30

TBD

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building 

Wednesday, July 31

Bryan Carter, UA Center for Digital Humanities

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

August 2019

Monday, August 5

“Skin Cancer in Arizona”

Clara Curiel

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, August 6

“Guanachicano Project”

Latin jazz, Mexican folk and more

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, August 13

TBD

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, August 15

“Evolution of South American Mammals”

Barbara Carrapa

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, August 20

TBD

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, August 22

“Local Wines”

William Beezley

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, August 27

“Young MacDonald”

Will and Lee MacDonald, young fiddle and cello virtuosos

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, August 29

“Birdsong and Communication”

Julie Miller

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Because some of our events overfill this hall, we have established a reserved-seat policy. This means non-Academy members need to call 647-0980 or email info@arizonasenioracademy.org to make a reservation. The first twenty-five people to reserve a seat will be able to enter the hall fifteen minutes prior to the announced starting time of the event and may sit anywhere, as will Academy members. Visitors without a reservation will be able to seat themselves five minutes prior to the announced starting time if there are still seats available. Thank you.

Visitor parking is behind the Community Center. Upon entry into Academy Village there will be a stop sign. Turn right and follow the yellow dividing line in the road to a sign that reads “Additional Parking.” Turn left onto Vivaldi Court and follow the road down into the parking lot.