As a non-profit charitable corporation, ASA is governed by a 13-member Board of Directors. Board members are elected for terms of three years, with two members rotating off each year. Current members are:



Max Fredric “Fred” Volkmann
ASA PresidentVice Chancellor Emeritus, Washington U. in St. Louis Past Interim VP for Strategic Communications, Penn State

 Past Board Chair, Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE)

Academy Village Resident

Helen S. Schaefer
Director Emeritus, UA Foundation
Past President, Tucson Symphony
Past President, Tucson YWCA
President, Pima Council on Aging
Dan Angelo
Former Professor, Business & TechnologyFormer Vice President, Student Services, San Bernardino Valley College.Former President, California Community College Registrars and Admissions Officers
Academy Village Resident
Peter Backus
ASA Board Chair
President of PB Trading Company and Coyote Creek Development
Calvin Baker
Superintendent, Vail Unified School District
2011-12 Arizona Superintendent of the Year
Lifetime Achievement Award, Metropolitan Education Commission
President, Arizona School Administrators Association, 2010-11
 Fred Boice low rez crop
Fred T. Boice
Owner, Boice Financial Co.
Two-term  President, Arizona Board of Regents
Past President, Arizona Cattlegrowers’ Association, Tucson Airport Authority, and the University of Arizona Foundation


Gary Fenstermacher
Retired Professor of Education, University of Michigan
Former Dean, University of Arizona College of Education
Academy Village Resident
Edward Reid
Director, University of Arizona School of Music,
Professor of Music and
University Distinguished Outreach Professor
Sabra S. Anderson
ASA Treasurer
Professor Emeritus of Mathematical Sciences
Former Dean, University of Minnesota Duluth College of Science and Engineering
Academy Village Resident
 fred skinner crop Fred Skinner

Professor Emeritus of History, University of Montana,
Russia and Beethoven scholar
Academy Village resident

 Marcia Neugebauer color 2013 crop
Marcia Neugebauer,
ASA Vice-President
for Programming
Space Physicist
Past President of the American Geophysical Union
Academy Village Resident
Mike Maharry
ASA Vice-President
for Administration
Retired newspaper editor
Academy Village Resident
Janet H. Barrett
Certified Academic Language Therapist 
Special Educator
Academy Village Resident
Christopher Sheafe
Member, Pima County Bond Committee
Partner, Rancho Del Lago
Member, Rio Nuevo Board of Directors



President: Max Fredric “Fred” Volkmann 

Vice-President: Administration:
Mike Maharry
Vice-President: Programming: Marcia Neugebauer
Treasurer: Sabra Anderson
Resident Music Liaison: Leslie Nitzberg
Founder and President Emeritus: Henry Koffler  (1922-2018)
Operations Manager: Kathie Van Brunt (


Committee Chairs

Lecture Team: Marcia Neugebauer
Music Team: Leslie Nitzberg and Kathie Van Brunt
Finance Advisory Committee: Sabra Anderson
Outreach Committee: Mike Maharry
Technology Committee: Charlie Prewitt
Library Committee: Rein Walker