January & February 2018

 

 

The ASA Building at Academy Village as seen from the courtyard
The ASA Building at Academy Village as seen from the courtyard

Tuesday, January 2

“The Tucsonics: A Western Swing Band”

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, January 3

Steve Harris

“Succulents”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, January 4

Bellal Joseph

“Seniors and Fall Prevention”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, North Seminar

 

Tuesday, January 9

“Classical Guitar and Flute”

Misael Barraza-Diaz and Diana Schaible

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, January 10

Albrecht Classen

 “The Magic of the Middle Ages

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, January 11

Pima County Bookmobile

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm, Front of the Community Center

 

Thursday, January 11

Ute Lotz-Heumann

“War and Religion in the Reformation Era”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, North Seminar

 

Thursday, January 18

Doris Dwyer

“Chautauqua: The Donner Party Survival Story”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, January 23

“All Gershwin”

Angelo Versace and Jason Carder

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, January 24

Carolyn O’Bagy Davis
“Hopi Quilting Traditions”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, January 25

Ted Harrison Poetry Group Readings

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, January 30

“Guanachicano Project: Latin Jazz”

Danny Brito & Co.

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, January 31

Kory Floyd

“The Importance of Being Prosocial”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 1

Timothy Thomure

Lecture on Water Supply ** Title TBA

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, North Seminar

 

Tuesday, February 6

“Baba Marimba: World Music”

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 7

Lee Ryan

 “Age Related Changes in Memory

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 8

Pima County Bookmobile

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm, Front of the Community Center

 

Thursday, February 8

Foreign Policy Association

Program 1

George Scholz

“Great Decisions: The waning of Pax Americana”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 13

“German and Russian Piano Works”

Alexander Tentser

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 14

Foreign Policy Association

Program 2

Fred Skinner

“Great Decisions: Russia’s foreign policy”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 15

Mindy Blake

“The RTA and Southeast Tucson”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 20

“Violin Recital”

Linda Rosenthal

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 21

Harald Saetren

“The Nordic Governmental Model: Between Capitalism and Socialism”

3:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Thursday, February 22

Foreign Policy Association

Program 3

Neil Kochenour

“Great Decisions: China and America: the new geopolitical equation”

3:00 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Tuesday, February 27

TBA

11:30 am – 12:30 pm, the Great Room

 

Wednesday, February 28

Laura C. Berry

“The Life, Times, and Novels of the Bronte Sisters”

2:30 pm – 4:30 pm, The Great Room

 

Because some of our events overfill this hall, we have established a reserved-seat policy. This means non-Academy members need to call 647-0980 or email info@arizonasenioracademy.org to make a reservation. The first twenty-five people to reserve a seat will be able to enter the hall fifteen minutes prior to the announced starting time of the event and may sit anywhere, as will Academy members. Visitors without a reservation will be able to seat themselves five minutes prior to the announced starting time if there are still seats available. Thank you.

Visitor parking is behind the Community Center. Upon entry into Academy Village there will be a stop sign. Turn right and follow the yellow dividing line in the road to a sign that reads “Additional Parking”. Turn left onto Vivaldi Court and follow the road down into the parking lot.