Please click on date to bring up a description of the event.

October 2019

Tuesday, October 15

 “Piano Music of Beethoven and Liszt”

Yi-Qing Tang, piano

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, October 16

“New Horizons: The Voyage of Columbus”

Michael Chriss

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday October 17

“Six Legs Walking: Notes from an Entomological Life”

Elizabeth Bernays

2:30-3:30, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, October 22

“Guitar and Bassoon Recital”

Jose Luis Puerta and Marissa Olegario

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy

Wednesday, October 23

“The Music Video: What You See is How It’s Built (or Not?)-1”

Dan Kruse

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, October 24

“The Historicity of King Arthur”

Mike Horn-Mitchem

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, October 29

“Grams and Krieger Blues Duo”

Danny Krieger, guitar and Steve Grams, bass

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, October 30

“The Music Video: What You See is How It’s Built (or Not?)-2”

Dan Kruse

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, October 31

“Hospice Care and How Best to Deal with Death and Loss”

Larry Lincoln

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

November 2019

Tuesday, November 5

“UA Graduate String Quartet”

 Fred Fox School of Music elite chamber ensemble

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, November 6

“A Virtual Walking Tour of Tucson’s Historic Main Street and Barrio Viejo”

Alan Kruse

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, November 7

“Oh, What a Beautiful Morning’: A Rodgers and Hammerstein Songbook”

Richard Hanson

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, November 12

“Duo Entre-Nous”

Jackie Glazier, clarinet & Don-Paul Kahl, saxophone

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, November 13

“Chinese Philosophy”

Joanne Birdwhistell

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, November 14

“Laundry and Bourbon” and “Lone Star,” companion short plays by James McLure.

The ASA Theatre Company

2:30-4:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Saturday, November 16

“Laundry and Bourbon” and “Lone Star,” companion short plays by James McLure.

The Arizona Senior Academy Theatre Company

7:00-9:00 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, November 19

“Violin and Piano Recital”

Timothy Kantor

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Wednesday, November 20

 

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Thursday, November 21

“Green Infrastructure”

Adriana Zuniga-Teran

2:30-3:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Tuesday, November 26

“Folk and Americana Music”

Don Armstrong & Earl Edmonson, guitars/vocals

11:30 am-12:30 pm, The Arizona Senior Academy Building

Because some of our events overfill this hall, we have established a reserved-seat policy. This means non-Academy members need to call 647-0980 or email info@arizonasenioracademy.org to make a reservation. The first twenty-five people to reserve a seat will be able to enter the hall fifteen minutes prior to the announced starting time of the event and may sit anywhere, as will Academy members. Visitors without a reservation will be able to seat themselves five minutes prior to the announced starting time if there are still seats available. Thank you.

Visitor parking is behind the Community Center. Upon entry into Academy Village there will be a stop sign. Turn right and follow the yellow dividing line in the road to a sign that reads “Additional Parking.” Turn left onto Vivaldi Court and follow the road down into the parking lot.